BMW 5 Series

The BMW 5 Series is a mid-size luxury car manufactured by German automaker BMW since 1972. It is the successor to the 4-door sedan models of the BMW New Class and is currently in its seventh generation.

Initially, the 5 Series was only available in a sedan body style. The touring body style was added in 1991 and the 5-door hatchback ("Gran Touring") was added in 2009.

It is BMW's second best-selling model after the 3-Series and in 2010 produced about 50% of the BMW's profits.

On January 29, 2008, the 5 millionth 5 Series was manufactured, a 530d Saloon in Carbon Black Metallic.

The 5 Series got its name by being the fifth of the "new series" cars after the V-8 and Isetta era and was the replacement for the older four-door New Class sedans. The current BMW naming convention began with the first 5 Series.

Currently, seven main generations of BMW 5 Series have followed one another:

  • The E12, from 1972 to 1981
  • The E28, from 1981 to 1988
  • The E34, from 1988 to 1996
  • The E39, from 1996 to 2003
  • The E60, from 2004 to 2010
  • The F10/F11, from 2010 to 2016
  • The G30/G31/G32, from 2016

Most years have seen a Motorsport version of the 5 series, called the BMW M5.

8.4 with 57 votes

Design: 8.4
Comfort: 9.2
Reliability: 8.4
Costs: 7.0
Performance: 8.9
Price: 26000 $


Be the first to write a review!